NASA Image of the Day

Subscribe to NASA Image of the Day feed
The latest NASA "Image of the Day" image.
Updated: 1 hour 57 min ago

Nick Hague Completes First Spacewalk

Mon, 03/25/2019 - 11:23
NASA astronaut Nick Hague completed the first spacewalk of his career on Friday, March 22, 2019. He and fellow astronaut Anne McClain worked on a set of battery upgrades for six hours and 39 minutes, on the International Space Station’s starboard truss.
Categories: Just News

Hubble Captures the Brilliant Heart of a Massive Galaxy

Fri, 03/22/2019 - 08:39
This fuzzy orb of light is a giant elliptical galaxy filled with an incredible 200 billion stars.
Categories: Just News

Margaret W. ‘Hap’ Brennecke: Trailblazer

Thu, 03/21/2019 - 11:32
Margaret W. ‘Hap’ Brennecke was the first female welding engineer to work in the Materials and Processes Laboratory at NASA’s Marshall Space Flight Center.
Categories: Just News

Waxing Gibbous Moon Above Earth's Limb

Wed, 03/20/2019 - 11:01
The waxing gibbous moon is pictured above Earth's limb as the International Space Station was orbiting 266 miles above the South Atlantic Ocean.
Categories: Just News

Preparing for Apollo 11

Tue, 03/19/2019 - 12:28
Apollo 11 backup crew members Fred Haise (left) and Jim Lovell prepare to enter the Lunar Module for an altitude test.
Categories: Just News

Going Where the Wind Takes It

Mon, 03/18/2019 - 10:14
​Electronics technician Anna Noe makes final checks to the Doppler Aerosol Wind Lidar (DAWN) before it begins a cross-country road trip for use in an upcoming airborne science campaign.
Categories: Just News

Liftoff! A New Crew Heads to the Space Station

Fri, 03/15/2019 - 09:00
The Soyuz MS-12 spacecraft lifted off with Expedition 59 crewmembers on a journey to the International Space Station.
Categories: Just News

The Soyuz at Dawn

Thu, 03/14/2019 - 09:39
The Soyuz rocket is seen at dawn on launch site 1 of the Baikonur Cosmodrome, Thursday, March 14, 2019 in Baikonur, Kazakhstan.
Categories: Just News

Stephanie Wilson: Preparing for Space

Wed, 03/13/2019 - 09:11
Stephanie Wilson is a veteran of three spaceflights--STS-120, STS-121 and STS-131--and has logged more than 42 days in space.
Categories: Just News

Soyuz Rollout to the Launch Pad

Tue, 03/12/2019 - 09:24
The Soyuz rocket is transported by train to the launch pad, Tuesday, March 12, 2019 at the Baikonur Cosmodrome in Kazakhstan.
Categories: Just News

NASA's Future: From the Moon to Mars

Mon, 03/11/2019 - 21:19
NASA Administrator Jim Bridenstine was photographed inside the Super Guppy aircraft that will carry the flight frame with the Orion crew module to a testing facility in Ohio.
Categories: Just News

Nancy Grace Roman: NASA's First Chief Astronomer

Fri, 03/08/2019 - 11:29
Nancy Grace Roman, NASA's first chief astronomer, is known as the 'Mother of Hubble.'
Categories: Just News

Ann R. McNair and Mary Jo Smith with Model of Pegasus Satellite, July 14, 1964

Thu, 03/07/2019 - 11:57
In 1964, Ann R. McNair and Mary Jo Smith pose with a model of a Pegasus Satellite.
Categories: Just News

NASA Captures Supersonic Shock Interaction

Wed, 03/06/2019 - 05:58
One of the greatest challenges of the fourth phase of Air-to-Air Background Oriented Schlieren flights, or AirBOS flight series was timing.
Categories: Just News

The Dawn of a New Era in Human Spaceflight

Tue, 03/05/2019 - 11:20
"The dawn of a new era in human spaceflight," wrote astronaut Anne McClain. McClain had an unparalleled view from orbit of SpaceX's Crew Dragon spacecraft as it approached the International Space Station for docking on Sunday, March 3, 2019.
Categories: Just News

SpaceX Falcon 9 Rocket Lifts Off From Launch Complex 39A

Mon, 03/04/2019 - 10:40
On March 2, 2:49 a.m. EST, a two-stage SpaceX Falcon 9 rocket lifts off from Launch Complex 39A at NASA’s Kennedy Space Center in Florida for Demo-1, the first uncrewed mission of the agency’s Commercial Crew Program.
Categories: Just News

SpaceX Demo-1 Launch

Sun, 03/03/2019 - 14:10
A SpaceX Falcon 9 rocket with the company's Crew Dragon spacecraft onboard launches from Launch Complex 39A, Saturday, March 2, 2019.
Categories: Just News

Mae Jemison, First African American Woman in Space

Fri, 03/01/2019 - 09:00
Mae Jemison was the first African Ameican woman in space.
Categories: Just News

SpaceX Demo-1: 'Go' for Launch

Thu, 02/28/2019 - 10:49
Two days remain until the planned liftoff of a SpaceX Crew Dragon spacecraft on the company’s Falcon 9 rocket—the first launch of a commercially built and operated American spacecraft and space system designed for humans.
Categories: Just News

Curiosity Drives Over a New Kind of Terrain

Wed, 02/27/2019 - 11:25
The Curiosity Mars Rover took this image with its Mast Camera (Mastcam) on Feb. 10, 2019 (Sol 2316).
Categories: Just News

Pages